Leave a comment

Writing For Children

This is the beginning of an exciting new adventure for me.  I am an elementary school teacher.  I am a teacher of creative writing.  I help inspire my students every day to be the best authors they can be.  I teach them how to write drafts, edit, revise, and publish a finished, polished piece.  I show them how to use writing partners to critique each others’ work.  I help them learn how to look at their pieces through the eyes of their reader.  And I allow them the time they need to create something they are proud of.  When they are done they celebrate by giving a reading to their peers.  And finally, they share it with their school community, friends, and families by posting it as a podcast on our classroom blog.  Their own voices articulate their written words with great inflection and enthusiasm.  They love the process from beginning to end and they understand that hard work pays off.

This blog is about that enthusiasm.  It is an exercise in demanding time in the day, as a teacher, for my students to find their writing voices and nurture their creative spirits.

Leave a Reply

